This division of the police department consists of the Chief of Police Danny Whiteley, Deputy Chief of Police Michael McClain, Captain Darron Moore and Lieutenant Keith Hefner. They are responsible for providing a level of service, which strives to achieve the safest possible environment and enhance the quality of life in Poplar Bluff. The Division also provides a creative, innovative and ethical organizational environment, which promotes fiscal responsibility, effective service delivery, and positive community interactions. It is a goal of the Administration Division to utilize the resources of the community, city personnel and technology to focus on identifying and resolving problems. The Administration Division's goal is to maximize the development of police department personnel and to recognize that they are a vital component to public service.

Chief Of Police Danny Whiteley

Chief Whiteley has been in his position since June of 2000. Whiteley has been a commissioned law enforcement officer since June of 1972. He was selected as the Reserve Deputy Sheriff of the year by the Missouri Deputy Sheriff's Association in 1995. Whiteley is a former Mayor Pro-Tem for the Poplar Bluff City Council and former president of the Poplar Bluff R-1 School Board. He was selected by the Cape Girardeau F.B.I. Office to attend the University of Arkansas Criminal Justice Institute in 2001. Whiteley has also received advanced S.W.A.T. training at the Springfield, MO Police Academy, also Whiteley currently serves as the Project Director for the SEMO Drug Task Force. Whiteley has been sponsored by the U.S. Secret Service (St. Louis Office) to attend the National Threat Assessment Seminar in Washington D.C. and is a member of the Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council. Whiteley accompanied leaders from major departments nation wide including New York City, Chicago, and other major cities. Recently Whiteley was named Outstanding Citizen of the Year 2010 by the Poplar Bluff Chamber of Commerce, for Dedicated and Untiring Efforts to serve our community.

Chief Whiteley may be reached directly at his office: 573-686-8680

or by e-mail at:

Deputy Chief Michael McClain

Deputy Chief McClain has been a member of this department since March 6th, 1995 after working for the Dunklin County Sheriff's Department. Deputy Chief McClain is a Certified Accident Reconstructionist, one of our departments Certified Firearms Instructors, an A.S.P Baton Defensive Tactics Instructor, a S.H.A.R.P. Certified Instructor, a Weapons of Mass Destruction Instructor and a Field Training Officer. Along with these titles Deputy Chief McClain is a D.W.I. Victim's Advocate.

Deputy Chief McClain may be reached at (573) 785-5776 ext. 1302

or e-mail at:

Captain Darron Moore

Captain Moore has been with the department since December of 1997 when he joined the Communications Division. He left the department in 2000 to attend the SEMO Law Enforcement Academy. After graduating, Captain Moore was re-hired to the Patrol Division in August of 2000. He is a Gas Mask Fit Instructor and has training in Crisis Intervention, Domestic Violence, Vehicle Search & Seizure, Weapons of Mass Destruction, and Response to Terrorism. Captain Moore is a member of the SEMO Bomb Squad as a certified bomb technician. He supervises the Communications Division, Code Enforcement Divisions, Records Division, and the K-9 Division.

Captain Moore may be reached at (573) 785-5776 ext. 1345

or by email at:

Lieutenant Keith Hefner

Lieutenant Hefner has been with the department since October 9th, 1995. Prior to his hiring, Lieutenant Hefner was an E.M.T. for Lucy Lee Life Support Systems Ambulance Service from 1991 until 1995. He was hired as a desk officer in October of 1995 until transferring to communications a short time later. There, he served as a Communications Training Officer and received Dispatcher of the Year in 2000. He is a graduate of the SEMO law enforcement academy in 2003 with high academic honors. He worked as a Reserve Officer and Communications Officer until his appointment to the Patrol Division on August 3rd of 2003. He has advanced training in Hostage Negotiation/Crisis Negotiations, as well as First Line Supervision and Management Development. Hefner was promoted to Patrol Corporal in 2008, Sergeant in 2009, and named Officer of the Year in 2011. Hefner was promoted to Patrol Lieutenant in June 2018 and then assigned as an Administrative Lieutenant in September 2019. Lieutenant Hefner has earned his CPTED Professional designation, is the department’s Assistant IT System Administrator, the C.A.L.E.A. Accreditation Manager, and Fleet Manager.

You may reach Lieutenant Hefner at: